Book Review – Good Omens

Bildresultat för good omens ISBN 9781473214712

By Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, ISBN: 978-1-473-21471-2

Okay, where do I start? First of all, this book was amazing. It was original, clever, funny and heart-warming. This is an “angels and demons” story you’ve never heard before.

The summary, as copied from Goodreads;

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except for a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.

And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

What if ‘Welcome To Night Vale’ met the bible?  This is the result (For all of you who have no idea what Welcome To Night Vale is, it’s a podcast about a town where all conspiracy theories, and more, are true). The plot was confusing in an amusing way, not annoying. You could never understand or expect where the authors would take you next. The writing was so creative, like giving really ridiculous info-dumps and at times taking perspective from the poor stand-bys who only want to go home, not having to deal with scolding aliens or demons that break the speed limit (I can understand that a lot of people are quite negative about multiple p.o.v. because of the confusion that often occurs, but trust me on this one). Anything could be possible. I can just picture in my head how much Gaiman and Pratchett must have been laughing when writing this story.

The characters were really loveable. Most outshining of them all are, of course, the demon Crowley and the angel Aziraphale who are totally crushing I swear. They provided with lots of humour but also heart-warming moments, and a whole new face to the whole ‘love-between-the-enemies’ that are very typical in books focusing on angels and demons etc. I have read other work of fiction with depictions of angels and demons such as Hush Hush (urgh) and Daughter Of Smoke And Bone (really don’t understand what the hype was about, sorry), both who really disappointed. But I never realised that THIS is the kind of depiction I want of angels and demons in our world, not some cheesy romance.

Though the only thing I had a problem with was the completely unnecessary romance. Like, if it was Aziraphale and Crowley, then I can understand. But with the others, it just felt completely unnecessary and made me really annoyed. I haven’t read any books by Terry Pratchett, but I have noticed a trend of Gaiman that has really annoyed me and made it harder for me to enjoy his books when I want to. And that is making all women some kind of love-interest. Like the romance mostly feels forced and makes me cringe. And I can never really relate to any of his female characters, which really bugs me because I’m not entirely sure why.

But, overall, this book was great and I’d definitely recommend this to anyone. So,

You Should Read This Book If You;

  • Want to, for once, not get emotionally devasted over a book
  • Have a great reading experience
  • Not having any idea of what the hell’s going on, but that’s okay because no one else in the book does either
  • Love creative writing, without unnecessary metaphors
  • Love Welcome To Night Vale
  • Want something new from the whole ‘Angels & Demons’ genre
  • Want a good laugh
  • Are a member of the Illuminati and want to enjoy yourself
  • You misplaced the Anti-Christ and want reassurance

You Should Not Read This Book If;

  • Hate multiple-perspective so much that you are willing to dump a book that actually does it really well
  • You don’t really like parody/comedy books
  • You don’t like any type of parody of the bible because you feel like this book is mocking your beliefs (I don’t think this is the case, but I’m putting it here for safety because I’m not religious so can’t speak for anyone who is)
  • You have a personal Vendetta against Crowley, the demon.
  • You are one of Crowley’s plants

Leave a Reply

