Book Review – Mansfield Park

1393818

Okay, so not only is this not my typical genre, but it’s also my first Jane Austen book. I know this book is quite different from her typical style as it is more serious, yet I really can’t recall why I chose to start with this book. But now I see that maybe that wasn’t the best decision.

“Taken from the poverty of her parents’ home, Fanny Price is brought up with her rich cousins at Mansfield Park, acutely aware of her humble rank and with only her cousin Edmund as an ally. When Fanny’s uncle is absent in Antigua, Mary Crawford and her brother Henry arrive in the neighbourhood, bringing with them London glamour and a reckless taste for flirtation. As her female cousins vie for Henry’s attention, and even Edmund falls for Mary’s dazzling charms, only Fanny remains doubtful about the Crawfords’ influence and finds herself more isolated than ever.”

I just want to make clear, first of all, that this is a good book and that I DID like it. But I didn’t get emotionally invested really (though I really liked Fanny and wanted the best for her) and, I don’t know. Sometimes you pick up a good book, but it just stays like that. A good book and nothing more.

The plot was a bit confusing at times (as well as all the people) and it did drag on a bit at times, which made it harder to get through the novel.  But Fanny was a great protagonist actually. She’s selfless yet struggles with the guilt of jealousy, she’s mostly left outside yet very observant of what’s going on around her. And even though she is obedient, she knows when to not give herself away. I think Fanny was the one to really give this book quality. And, as with every Austen book, she made a great and revolutionary depiction of a healthy marriage by focusing on love and consent.

And I did like Austen’s writing, and really hope to pick up another book (maybe Pride & Prejudice, loved the film) and explore more of her work!

Quite a short review, but that’s all for now 🙂 Want to write another review today as well

You Should Read This Book If;

  • You like classics
  • Want a good-hearted protagonist
  • Love Austen
  • Want a good romance
  • Looking for a relaxing read

You Should Not Read This Book If;

  • You want a fast-paced read
  • Don’t like a more challenging writing (older language that makes it a bit harder to understand, specifically applies to those that have English not as native language, like me)
  • Not really into romance or classics

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Mansfield Park

  1. The only Austen book I have read is Pride and Prejudice. I did not finish it. I just feel that Austen’s style is a little dull, boring and slow for me. As far as the classics go I am more suited to Arthur Conan Doyle, Jules Verne etc …

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Austen is one of those that literally everyone has an opinion on. Very much love or hate as far as her work goes it seems. They are well worth reading 🙂 Conan Doyle wrote the Sherlock Holmes stories and Jules Verne wrote things such as 20,000 Leagues Beneath the Sea and The Mysterious Island.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

