Book Tag #Valentine’s Day

lovebook2

Happy Valentine’s Day! Today, except for staying home and ignoring this holiday, I decided to do a book tag related to Valentine’s day. To tell the truth, I’m not reeally into romance books and is one of the things that make me cringe the most if it’s unnecessary added to a book plot. But I DO like romance if it’s done well (aka PLEASE not instalove).

This book tag was made by Little Book Owl
1. Favourite basic romance plot

There are two types of romance plots I love. One is “from rivals to lovers”, another is when the two characters are both completely oblivious to how much they actually love each other, until after a long time.
2. Favourite classic romance

The Diary Of Miss Idilia: A Tragic Tale Of Young Love Lost by Idilia Dubb

Though I’m not sure it counts as a classic. First, it’s not very known. Second, it wasn’t published until 2002 I believe though it is set around 19th century (if I remember correctly). Third, it’s very much a true story.
3. Favourite feel good romance

Well I can’t remember if I’ve ever read any genre that is specifically “feel-good romance”, so I’m gonna go with the historical novel The Pillars Of The Earth by Ken Follett. Mind you, it’s not exactly just “feel good”, but at least the ending makes up for everything.

4. Favourite sad romance

Uh eh both previous answers (The Diary Of Miss Idilia/The Pillars Of The Earth) fit into this category.
5. Favourite genre to add romance to

Magical Realism!

6. Least favourite romance OF ALL TIME!

I didn’t have to think for a second; Wildest Dreams by Kristen Ashley is my all-time most hated book I SWEAR. And what pisses me really of is the high ratings this book has one Goodreads. Seriously guys? I have never in my life judged someone for liking a book I did not like, until I stumbled upon this one. I have NEVER read such a glorified abusive relationship, such a lazy world building and worse characters. Seriously, in the end, I was rooting for the bad guy. Actually, I thought the main hero was the villain through 4/5 of the book.

7. Favourite literary couple in general

Percy & Annabeth from the Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan/Riordan’s universe

+ Wax & Steris from the Mistborn Spin-off series by Brandon Sanderson (oh did you think I could do a single tag without mentioning one of his books?)
8. If you could have one literary significant other, who would it be?

Either Magnus Chase from Magnus Chase And The Gods Of Asgard series by Rick Riordan (seriously, he’s the perfect boyfriend material ever. Supportive of whatever you choose to do or be, a real softy, amusing, really caring etc…) OR Loki from the Runemarks by Joanne Harris series because both of us are the embodiments of bad luck (I don’t think I’ve related more to a character than him in Runelight)

Leave a Reply

