Beautiful Book Covers

 

“You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover” goes the usual saying. But to be real – who doesn’t judge a book by its cover? Here are some of my favourite covers on my shelf;

 

  • The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

picsart_02-18-12-08-10

Simple, yet exclusive looking. Considering the book’s description, this cover is like a beautiful and fitting frosting on the cake.

 

  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

picsart_02-18-12-14-39

Although the previous books have really stunning covers as well, this one is my favourite. Beautifully designed and gives you a promise of an intriguing Fantasy world.

 

  • The Power by Naomi Alderman

picsart_02-18-12-10-36

It is so simple, yet so eye-catching. When I saw this novel in a bookshop, I just couldn’t tear my eyes from it.

 

  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

picsart_02-18-12-03-40

The drawing on the cover really drew me in (sorry that was terrible) and is so different from my other book covers, which helps it really stand out on my shelf.

 

  • Revenger by Alastair Reynolds

picsart_02-18-11-58-09

This cover is just so beautiful and intriguing and matches the description of the book perfectly.

 

  • Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

picsart_02-18-12-00-47

Okay this cover is just SO stunning, hands down. Even though it was pretty expensive in the bookshop, I just had to buy it.

 

  • Elantris by Brandon Sanderson

picsart_02-18-12-12-47

Light book covers for Fantasy/SciFi novels are actually not that common, which is one thing that makes this standout. But what really pulls me to it is the mystical and magical design on the cover that promises a magical world. Just look at how all the colours stand out together!

  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

picsart_02-18-12-06-12

This book was illustrated by Chris Riddell as well (he illustrated ‘Neverwhere’) and is probably my currently favourite book cover. I remember walking into the bookshop in December to look for presents to my family, seeing this the cover and that it was the only book left, I ended up spending almost half my budget to buy this for myself. I just couldn’t leave the shop without it. Look at it! It’s beautifully mysterious, it’s impossible to not want to read this book.

Leave a Reply

