T5W – Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

This is my first “Top 5 Wednesday” post, so excited! Find the T5W goodreads group here.

This week’s topic is about books that are great for getting one out of a reading slump. We’ve all been there, those periods when you are at a complete lack of motivation for reading. Maybe you’ve read a terrible (or terribly boring) book, or you have a lot of things on your mind that makes it hard to focus on reading. So here are some of my recommendations to get you out of your misery!

5. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett

Once upon a time there lived a demon, his name was Crowley, and he had one job. One job. And he screwed it up and now aliens are scolding humans for their high CO(2) value and confused Tibetans are coming up out of holes in the ground. Oh and the world is ending.

This book about angels, demons, witches etc. was just so ridiculous and completely free of any tropes that typically apply to books that they’re in (and we’re all tired of seeing). This book is filled with weird and funny things, and definitely, a great book to pick up if you want something light and funny after a long and boring book.

4. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Omg this book I finished in like one and a half day. ‘The Final Empire’ is a High Fantasy set in a world ruled by the eevil Lord Ruler (God King was already occupied) oppressing the people known as Skaa. What happens is that the Skaa-thief Kelsier, hell-bent on revenge (and with a somewhat dramatic flair) decides to look big and take down their 1000-year-old ruler with God-like powers. Vin is a young Skaa thief herself who is, without warning, joining Kelsier’s crew of rebel(misfits). What happens next is fun for the whole family.

Okay this is why I will never be employed to do book descriptions. This novel was my introduction to the author Brandon Sanderson, and now I’m currently reading his 13th book and am addicted to updating his website to see how is Stormlight Archive #3 is coming along. Seriously, I’ve always been that person who’ve constantly been disappointed by (over)hyped books – until this one. Some say it’s a bit slow in the beginning, but I honestly did not notice. This book is definitely worth a shot if you feel unmotivated to read.

3. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Everyone loves a good Hero vs. Villain story – but what about a Villain vs. Villain story? ‘Vicious’ by V.E. Schwab is a short novel with short chapters, great for anyone who needs a quick read with a super intriguing story.

2. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

How cool wouldn’t it be to be a secret agent for a secret government organisation that dabbles in supernatural threats, such as vampires, dragons, Belgians, etc. But did you know that that is exactly what Myfanway Thomas is? No, she doesn’t know either.

This book was such a fast and fun read for me, I absolutely loved it. It has everything you need for a fast-paced read if you’re in a reading slump – lots of humour, plot twists, intrigue and a set of amazing characters. And no romance subplot!

1. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

12-year-old Percy Jackson has always felt that the world was working against him. When his pre-algebra teacher turned into a Fury, Percy started to suspected that higher forces may be to blame.

The reason why I chose this book as No. 1 is because this book (series) got me out of a 4-year long reading slump. So much had happened in my life, and after so many bad books I just quit reading. Then I got sick. I was in bed back and forth for one year and a half, and then my parents gave me an audiobook premium membership on audiable (it’s a swedish/scandinavian audiobook site). I had heard of Percy Jackson, and as the mythology fan I am, I thought, why not? And, honestly, memoriseI was shocked. memories I had of books was that they were long and boring, but hell I actually started LAUGHING when reading. And I wanted more. The book gave me a completely new view on books than from what I had learned in school, and since then I have read like crazy. My dad had been constantly nagging me about that I should read, now he constantly says “I have created a monster”.

 

2 thoughts on “T5W – Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

