Book Tag #NOPE

Hello guys! I found this book tag on Booktube and although I wasn’t tagged by anyone, I spiritually relate to “Nope.”, so I figured I just had to do it. This tag was originally created by Farah, check out her booktube channel here.

Disclaimer that these are my own opinions and I don’t mean to offend anyone, or to say that I’m right. You’re super welcome to share your opinion if you disagree with me on any book or character I’m slamming.

1. NOPE. Ending: A book ending that made you go NOPE either in denial, rage, or simply because the ending was crappy.

Bildresultat för northern lights philip pullman

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman. Right, okay, this ending just made me go big big NOPE in denial. I’m not kidding, I was so shocked by what happened to… you know who… that I was so heartbroken and traumatized. I could not look at the next book aas anything close to innocent. I’m like, really, really not okay. The ending was not crappy no, it just made me go capital NOPE. I might as well have added the next book, but chose this because it, like I said, affected my view on the second book, so the SECOND shocking ending was not as shocking. But still, not okay Pullman. Not okay.

 

 

2. NOPE. Protagonist: A main character you dislike and drives you crazy. 

20821111

Adelina from The Young Elites by Marie Lu made me just give up on continuing the series. I’m sorry but I just can’t stand whiny characters that go “I’m a monster” like all the time. This was supposed to be a villain prequel, so I understood that the whole “morality” and self-reflection would be a big part, but the way it was executed just made it scream “Pity me! I’m a poor misunderstood person! I’m a monster!”. That doesn’t make her an interesting villain, just seem self-obsessed and whiny. And not in a comical way, no it’s taken so serious that I cringed. If you want a (sort of, it’s debatable) YA villain prequel, I recommend you to read Revenger by Alastair Reynolds instead.

 

3. NOPE. Series: A series that turned out to be one huge pile of NOPE. after you’ve invested all of that time and energy on it, or a series you gave up on because it wasn’t worth it anymore. 

Bildresultat för daughter of smoke and bone

I read the first two books in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor, then decided to not even bother with the last. I was so excited for this book as the world-building sounded amazing. I expected political intrigue, exploration of a different world, filled with action etc. But oh I should have realized what to expect. An angsty romeo & juliet romance. Ridiculously instantaneous, and equally fatal. But, you know, like all adaptations, they completely miss Shakespeare’s point. I read the second book, but no. Not gonna pick up the last.

 

 

4. NOPE. Popular pairing: A “ship” you don’t support.

You know, I could fit like TONS of ships here because I usually don’t ship characters at all. On contrary, it’s much harder for me to mention something I ship. Honestly, like I don’t care a shit for like any ship from a YA fantasy/Sci-fi like the hunger games, daughter of smoke and bone, grisha trilogy, the young elites, red queen… You name it. I don’t mean they’re necessarily bad, I just can’t find myself caring about their relationships because, Idk, there’s a world that needs saving.

5. NOPE. Plot twist: A plot twist you didn’t see coming or didn’t like.

Bildresultat för warbreaker brandon sandersonFor this I choose a plot twist from Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson that made me go ‘NOPE.’ out of shock for not seeing it coming. If you’ve read this book, you know exactly what plot twist I’m talking about. Or, maybe not. Because there was so goddamn many. But the one, that made me jump up in shock and having to walk around the house to calm me down, was the one that changed everything for a specific main character… oh I don’t want to spoil anything, just read the book! You won’t regret it.

 

 

6. NOPE. Protagonist action/decision: A character decision that made you shake your head NOPE. 

Bildresultat för victoria aveyard glass sword

The question with this one is, which one of them? Mare annoyed me even more in this second book, a lot of decisions and actions just seemed bad and selfish on her part. I could understand a bit, but that doesn’t excuse it.

 

 

 

 

 

7. NOPE. Genre: A genre you will never read.

Contemporary romance. I’m sorry but I just don’t care for other people’s romances, fictional or non-fictional (I’m a horrible friend).

8. NOPE. Book format: Book formatting you hate and avoid buying until it comes out in a different edition

Oh I think most will agree with me on this one – real life people on the covers. Thanks, but no thanks. I don’t even know why they still do that, like nothing says “Hi this book is cheesy” more than a man or woman staring out intensely. I won’t even bother to look at the title.

9. NOPE. Trope: A trope that makes you go NOPE.

Instalove (yeah I have a problem with love in most books if you haven’t figured that out yet). But worst is probably the “I’m not like other girls”-trope. The chances are 70% that I will just close the book if a similar line comes up. I’m sorry but aren’t we over the whole phase of “feminim” stuff equals weakness and is superficial? It teaches girls that being girly is wrong and that a strong woman is someone that slams other women and should look for approval from men. No, just no.

10. NOPE. Recommendation: A book recommendation that is constantly hyped and pushed at you that you simply refuse to read.

Bildresultat för throne of glass

Considering of what negative things I’ve heard of this series, I’m not at all interested because I’m just expecting the same disappointment I got from Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I’m very critical to hyped YA fantasy because they tend to be so… “tropey”. And a lot of focus on romance. It doesn’t need to mean that the book is bad, it’s just that I don’t like it. Besides, I have my Vin from Mistborn and Çeda from Twelve Kings so I’m good.

 

 

 

11. NOPE. Cliche/pet peeve: A cliche or writing pet peeve that always makes you roll your eyes.

Overuse of metaphors and similes just makes me cringe so bad. I just find it so cheesy and unprofessional, like reading from someone who is learning to develop their own ‘unique’ language, but just ends up sounding, well, cheesy. But ESPECIALLY I can’t stand it when it’s coming from first perspective, like in third person it’s mostly okay, but first, no no. It sounds so unnatural. I don’t know about you, but I never think in metaphors.

12. NOPE. Love interest: The love interest that’s not worthy of being one. A character you don’t think should have been a viable love interest.

Bildresultat för twelve kings bradley beaulieu

I’m gonna go with Emre from The Song of The Shattered Sand -series. I just did not care for him as a love interest. Thankfully this relationship doesn’t ruin the book in any way, but I just found never felt the chemistry between Çeda and him. I don’t think the author should have added any romance until later and so allowing it to progress. I just don’t buy the whole ‘childhood romance’ thing.

 

 

 

 

13. NOPE. Book: A book that shouldn’t have existed that made you say NOPE.

28593621Oh my god you guys, this fucking book is the fucking reason I don’t use the rating system on my reviews (if you’ve noticed). It’s just…just… so bad… God the Hulk better watch out if anyone mentions this book in my presence. The only book I’ve ever given 1 star, with 4.2 rating on Goodreads, is filled with romanticizing an abusive relationship (publicly embarrassing your girlfriend is okay, it’s cute to threaten to rape her if she confronts you is okay, forcing her to stay with you and separating her from her home is okay because you love her, remove her birth control without her consent or knowing because you’re the man and you have a right to decide over your wife’s reproductive organ, also when talking about future kids you say you’d have great and powerful sons but if they got a daughter she would “only have her mother’s beauty” (yeah he fucking said that) and so on). And it doesn’t get better with that the male character and love interest is, of course, RIDICULOUSLY powerful. Because, you know, a man has to be powerful and dominant. And the fucking “heroine” oh my god, she’s dumber than a fucking 11-year-old (and she’s fucking 30 or something wtf), she talks like a 12-year-old (I thought she was like an immature 16 year old until her age was revealed). She doesn’t get mad because he threatens to rape her, no no, she gets mad when she finds out that he had slept with another woman years before they met. WTF???

Okay just fucking sit down, I’m not done yet. You know why I kept reading it? Because I thought the love interest would be revealed as the villain he is. And you know what happens when the “heroine” finally confronts him for all he’s done (or, well, some of it)?? When I FINALLY thought “Yes girl!”?? HE GETS FUCKING “KILLED” AND SHE REALIZES HOW MUCH SHE ACTUALLY LOVED HIM SO IT WAS ALL OKAY, YOU KNOW, BECAUSE HE DID ALL THOSE ABUSIVE THINGS BECAUSE HE LOVED HER. AND THEN HE COMES BACK AND THEY DON’T TALK ABOUT IT BECAUSE IT’S ALL OKAY BECAUSE SHE KNOWS THAT HE “LOVES” HER. SPOILER? NO, I’M SAVING YOU TIME.

I WAS FELT SO MUCH PITY FOR THE VILLAIN FOR HAVING TO DEAL WITH THEM. 

Right, I warned you, this book makes me lose my shit. I’m always trying to sound diplomatic to not offend anyone, but I’m sorry, I AM gonna judge you if you love this book. I’m not gonna lie about that, I’ll accept but I’ll judge.

Can you fucking imagine that trees had to die for this shitty book?

14. NOPE. Villain: A scary villain/antagonist you would hate to cross and would make you run in the opposite direction.

Bildresultat för neverwhere mr croup and mr vandemar chris riddell

Okay okay, I’m cool, I’m fine. Just got a bit… heated up. But now I’m good :D. Anyway, right, for this question I would definitely NOT want to cross paths with Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar from Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. It’s not about just their powers, they’re just so freaking disgusting and creepy that I get nightmares just thinking about them. If I ever met them, I would just have to accept my doom.

 

 

 

15. NOPE. Death: A character death that still haunts you.

Bildresultat för the lies of locke lamora

Right, I’m not gonna pick the one from the Nothern Lights because I already picked it, so I’m gonna go with uhm the “one” in The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch. I was, not prepared. I was shocked, offended, heartbroken and mentally not okay.

 

 

 

 

16. NOPE. Author: An author you had a bad experience reading for and have decided to quit.

Well definitely not anything from Kristen Ashley, author to Wildest Dreams.

 

Right, that was the NOPE book tag! Do you agree with me on any of these? Are you opposed to any of them? Did you get mentally scared by my rant about Wildest Dreams? Anything you’d like to add? Then feel free to comment!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Book Tag #NOPE

  1. As for the nope of a book that shouldn’t exist, I would have to say Lord of the Flies. That book is a waste of paper.
    Because of your vehement hatred for Wildest Dreams, I looked it up on Goodreads. I was amazed at the amount of positive reviews surrounding the book if that is how the MC guy acts. I will definitely be keeping away from that book!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. There are lots of people that like it because it talks about how quickly things can fall into anarchy but I just thought it was just awful.
        That’s why even if a book has a super high or super low rating, I read multiple reviews and sometimes even check out the spoilers simply so I know what I am getting into.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t finish the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series either because the second book turned me off so much I DNFed it. I expected more than angsty and overdone romance. I really dislike when characters turn out to be “destined” for one another because of past lives or fate. It becomes ridiculously over the top really quickly.

    I also totally feel you on Noping out of contemporary romance. I have never, and will never read one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

